Trello requires a user to perform certain actions. At SendBoard we've created a number of users that we can assign to your board to perform actions in response to incoming emails. This includes creating cards from new tickets and commenting on a card when a new email arrives.
We automatically add this SendBoard bot user to your board when you first create your mailbox or account. You do not need to add the bot.
No additional Trello charge for the SendBoard Bot
The Sendboard bot is a "Single-board guest" and is not charged an extra Trello subscription. Note that "Multi-board guests" are members of more than one workspace board and are charged the same price as a workspace member. If you go to view your workspace members, you should see the SendBoard bot listed under "Single-board guests". There is a bot for each board. So if SendBoard is used on multiple boards, you will have multiple bots, but each bot will only be linked to one single board.
What to do when the bot has been removed
If the bot is removed from your board either deliberately or by accident, we no longer have a Trello user that can create cards or comments on your board. We can pick this up whenever a new email arrives and we attempt one of these actions.
To fix this, simply click on the SendBoard button to go to settings and navigate to the Board tab and we will automatically add the bot back for you.
Don't worry about losing emails, though. We will email the account owner if this ever happens and we will be able to reprocess any emails that have arrived since the bot was removed. You just need to send us an email at email@example.com and we will assist you.
Sometimes when we attempt to add the bot to the board we run into some problems. The most likely reason you'd have this issue, is a setting available to Trello Business Class Teams called "Inviting Guests to Boards". If this is set to "Only Team Members", we will be unable to add the bot as a guest user.
You'd need to change this setting to "Anybody" and then try again to complete the SendBoard set up process.
Once the bot has been added, you can change the setting back to "Only Team Members".